Nepalese Voice Logo
PTE Course Melbourne
Gurkhas Brunswick

EC may announce provincial PR seat winners today

EC may announce provincial PR seat winners today

2018-01-17, RSS

The Election Commission (EC) is likely to announce winners of the provincial assemblies elected under Proportional Representation (PR) category on Wednesday. 

The EC informed this during a meeting with the leaders of the five major political parties Tuesday. The commissioners said they are working to publish the PR results of the provincial assembly elections as the government appears prepared to appoint provincial governors on Wednesday.

 "We are planning to declare the provincial PR seat winners on Wednesday," said election commissioner Ishwari Prasad Paudyal.

Leaders from the five major political parties were invited at EC headquarters at Bahadur Bhawan on Tuesday. "We reiterated our previous stance that the governors should be appointed at the earliest," said Paudyal. 

On December 22, the EC had announced the number of provincial PR seats won by each party without announcing the names of the winners.

The EC has yet to allocate parliamentary PR seats to parties although the counting of votes was completed weeks ago.

Nepal Election Commission Election commissioner Ishwari Prasad Paudyal

Right side one
Right Side Two
Right Side Three
PTE Course Melbourne
RSA Course
Before Footer